We are supported by readers, when you click & purchase through links on our site we earn affiliate commission. Learn more.

Google is Lastly Retiring Free Hangouts Customers on iOS and Android

Later this yr, you possibly can anticipate the basic Hangouts to cease working for enterprise Workspace prospects, and they’re going to solely be left with Google Chat. Google has now began the method of retiring the app and web site totally free private accounts with a warning together with a sigh out.

As reported by 9to5Google, for those who open the Hangouts app on Android or iOS at this time, you can be proven a blue “Hangouts is being changed by Google Chat” banner, and on the high, that is what the textual content reads.

Google Thought of Shopping for Epic Video games Throughout Fortnite App Conflict

Your conversations from the final yr are already in Chat, and older conversations shall be accessible later.

It’s Time to Wave Goodbye to Hangouts as Google Has Began Closing the Store

Clicking on “Be taught extra” will take you to a help doc. Along with that, there’s a “Change to Chat in Gmail” choice, and tapping that button will signal you out of the Hangouts cell app earlier than opening Gmail; this can occur even when you have already got the standalone Google Chat app put in.

As soon as the customers are signed out, they may now not get notifications from Hangouts or ship messages with the app. That is positively the largest step in the entire technique of shutting down the legacy service by making certain that nobody is absolutely utilizing it. Nevertheless, for those who nonetheless wish to use the basic Hangouts app, you are able to do so by studying your Gmail account after opening the app in your cellphone.

Should you head over to hangouts.google.com, you can be getting an identical message that reads, “it is time to swap to Google Chat.”

Hangouts goes away quickly, swap to Google Chat now to proceed your Hangouts conversations with new options.

Google nonetheless hasn’t introduced the dates when free accounts shall be fully unable to make use of the basic model of the app. Nevertheless, for enterprise customers, this improve goes to happen someday in late 2021.